U14’s defeated by Waterford in Munster A Semi Final

KerryU14 team

Commiseration to our U14 team & management who were defeated in the Munster semi final on Saturday 19th our U14 team by a strong Waterford side in the Munster A Semi final in Castletownroche. Waterford got a great start to the game with goal in the early minutes from Annie Fitzgerald, but the young inexperienced Kerry girls replied with a point seconds later from the boot of Kayla O’Connor & within 5 minutes were level with scores from Cora Joy & Anna Clifford. In fact they could have been ahead if it was not for the heroics of the Waterford keeper & full back who was simply wonderful. Kerry then powered ahead & it looked like they had settle down after scores from Maeve Rochford & Ceiti Long * 2. But Waterford struck for another goal to bring it level, but captain Niamh Ni Conchuir pointed to leave Kerry ahead at the break 0-7 to Waterford 2-00. Waterford again started the brightest with 2 points in quick succession, with Kerry making positional changes. Waterford were making many attacks but their shots dropping wide. Kerry did claw themselves back into the game with a goal from Ally O’Mahony, a rasper of a shot to the top left corner which was followed quickly by an Ella Teahan point.  Kerry momentum was short lived as Kerry keeper was called into action quickly with a great save, but the rebound was hit to the net as the Waterford forward reacted quicker.  The Deise side followed this up with 2 more points. Kerry kept attacking & earned frees which were not converted unfortunately, with again the Waterford keeper playing superb ably assisted by her full & centre back. Waterford got their 4 goal of the game in the 22nd minute. But Kerry not to throw in the towel got another back through Ella Teahan to leave only 2 between the sides. The last minutes were frantic as Kerry desperately tried for a third elusive goal, but alas efforts fell short. Final Score: Kerry 2-08 Waterford 4-04.

Niamh Foley (Miltown) , Kate Mc Carthy  (Legion), Ellen O Sullivan (Inbhear Sceine Gaels), Joyce O Connor ( Currow), Mairead Lehane (Miltown), Ailbhne Clifford (Cromane), Caoimhe Evans (Miltown), Niamh Ní Chonchúir (Corca Dhuibhne) Captain, Kayla O Connor (Desmonds), Katie Buckley (Rathmore), Ally Ní Mhathúna  (Corca Dhuibhne), Maebh Rochford ( Miltown), Cora Joy ( Cromane) , Ceiti Ni Luing  ( Corca Dhuibhne), Anna Clifford (Fossa),  Subs: Sinead O Neill (Cromane), Ciara Randles (Legion), Ella Teahan (Miltown) for Maeve Rochford 2nd half, Shelley Clifford (Fossa) for Ailbhe Clifford , Clodagh Ní Shiúrdáin (Corca Dhuibhne), Ellen Coffey (Legion) for Katie Buckley 2nd half, Niamh Brown (Dingle), Katelyn Crowe (Kerins O Rahillys ), Rachel Ryan (Austin Stacks), Conagh Fitzgerald ( Abbeydorney) for Ellen O’Sullivan 2nd half, Danielle O Leary (Rathmore), Siofra O Shea (Southern Gaels), Mairead Bennett (Spa) for Joyce O’Connor h/t, Gillian Courtney (Glenflesk), Kayleigh Mc Glashen (Laune Rangers). Team Manager:Rory Kilgallen (John Mitchels) Selectors: John Doona (Legion),Christena Murphy (Kerins O Rahillys),Nora O Connor (Rathmore), Frank Mc Loughlin (Kerins O Rahillys),Frances Bowler (Dingle).