Tag: Munster U16 Championship

Kerry U/16s Defeat Tipperary.

Munster U16A Championship

Kerry 5-13 Tipperary 1-4

Kerry U16 Ladies footballers got their Munster Championship campaign off to a flying start with a comprehensive 21 point victoy over a fancied Tipperary side in Tipperary Town last Monday.

The most impressive statistic to emerge from the game from a Kerry point of view was the fact that both of their midfielders and 6 forwards contributed to the scoreboard on the day. This, allied to a teak tough defence that gave very little away, laid the foundation for some superb Kerry teamwork throughout the contest that was bound to please their management team.

Although dominant for most of the game, Kerry still had to call on netminder Ciara Butler to produce 3 outstanding saves on the day, but in truth Tipperary never looked like mounting any type of serious challenge to the overall outcome.

The foundation for Kerry’s victory was laid in a superb first half in which they outscored their opponents by 4-11 to 1-1. The Kerry half backline of Gemma Kearney, Rachel Dwyer and Aoife Dillane were completely dominant in this period, and their dogged defence, allied to a hard working midfield of Mary and Aisling O’Connell, gave the Kerry forwards the platform to display their scoring prowess. Scorer in chief was full forward Siofra O’Shea who contributed 2 goals and 5 points in this period, while she received able backup from Danielle O’Leary, Rachel Kilgallen, Ella Teahan , Clodagh Evans and Mary Collins, who all contributed to an impressive scoreboard. Ashling Ryan scored a point for Tipperary in the first half while Orla Winston chipped in with a good goal.

Tipperary, playing with the wind in the second half, came at Kerry with more determination. While they did threaten at times, keeper Butler, and some great defence from Maud Kelly, Rachel O’Connor and Ava Doherty in the full backline kept their attackers at bay. Tipperary did manage to score 3 points in the second half as Kerry missed a number of chances at the other end. Siofra O’Shea dusted herself off to score a penalty after she was fouled herself , while points from Mary O’Connell and Clodagh Evans sealed the Kerry victory. Kerry manager Rory Kilgallen gave a number of his substitutes some game time, and the manner in which they aquitted themselves gives great confidence to the strength in depth of his panel.

Kerry U16s  next game is on March 31st in John Mitchels Complex against Cork.

Kerry scorers ; Siofra O’Shea 3-5 (1 goal pen, 4f), Mary Collins (1-1), Aisling O’Connell (0-2), Clodagh Evans (0-2), Ella Teahan (1 goal), Mary O’Connell (0-1), Rachel Kilgallen (0-1), Danielle O’Leary (0-1).

Kerry Name Their Team For U/16 Munster A Championship v Tipperary.

The Kerry U/16 team has been named for their crunch Munster Championship tie against Tipperary on Saturday and it shows 3 change from the side that was defeated by Cork in Round 1.

Into the side comes Mary O’Connell of Na Gaeil at midfield ,Emma O’Sullivan of Inbhear Sceine Gaels to right half forward and Ella Teahan of Milltown/Listry to left corner forward.
A win for Kerry will see them through to the Munster final while a loss will see them eliminated from the competition.Throw in at John Mitchels is at 4oc.
The Kerry team in full is;
Kerry U 16 A V Tipperary on Saturday 1st April 2017 in Mitchels at 4pm
 1. Dasha Puzanova (Dr Crokes)
 2. Rachel O Connor (Corca Dhuibhne)
 3. Mairead Lehane (Miltown)
 4. Kayleigh Mc Glashan (laune Rangers)
 5. Julie O Sullivan (Inbhear Sceine Gaels)
 6. Kayla O Connor (Castleisland Desmonds)
 7. Meabh Mc Elligott (Austin Stacks)
 8. Siofra O Shea (Southern Gaels
 9. Mary O Connell (Na Gael)
 10.Emma O Sullivan (Inbhear Sceine Gaels)
 11.Ceiti Ni Luing ( Corca Dhuibhne)
 12.Anna Clifford (Fossa)
 13.Katie Buckley (Rathmore
 14.Niamh Ní Chonchúir (Corca Dhuibhne)
 15.Ella Teahan (Miltown)

 16.Robyn White (Ballymac) 17.Cora Joy ( Cromane) Captain 18.Caoimhe Evans (Miltown) 19.Gemma Kearney(Castleisland Desmonds) 20.Maedhbh Rochford ( Miltown) 21.Ciara Randles (Legion) 22.Andrea Nolan (Laune Rangers) 23.Ellen Coffey (Legion) 24.Danielle O Leary (Rathmore) 25.Aoife Dillane (Austin Stacks) 26.Ava Doherty (Glenflesk) 27.Maud Kelly (Fossa) 28.Jillian Courtney (Glenflesk) 29.Rachel Kilgallen (John Mitchels) 30.Tara Murphy (Legion) Team Manager:Rory Kilgallen Selectors: Christena Murphy,Frank Mc Loughlin ,Frances Bowler

Kerry U/16 Team Revealed.

Kerry U/16 manager Graham Shine has named a strong team for Sundays opening U/16 Munster Championship game to be played in Castleisland at 2pm on this Saturday 2nd April.

Kerry field a number of players that featured on last year’s All Ireland winning side, and Shine will be hoping that their experience will help Kerry to get over the wimnning line.

The Kerry team in full is :

1 Laura Tehan  Kilcummin
2 Kate Maher  Kilcummin
3 Tara Breen Beaufort
4 Ciara O Brien Laune Rangers
5 Anna O Reilly Fossa
6 Ally Ni Mhathuna Corca Dhuibhne
7 Ciara Murphy Miltown/Listry
8 Sophie Lynch Listowel Emmets
9 Brid Ryan Rathmore
10 Fiadhna Tagney Beaufort
11 Erica McGlynn Fossa
12 Niamh Ni Chonchuir Corca Dhuibhne
13 Aoife O Callaghan Rathmore
14 Hannah O Donoghue Beaufort
15 Labhaoise Walmsley Castleisland Desmonds
16 Dasha Puzanova Dr Crokes
17 Julie O Sullivan Inbhear Sceine Gaels
18 Jaydn Lucey Na Gaeil
19 Ceiti Ni Luing Corca Dhuibhne
20 Rachael Fitzgerald Rathmore
21 Mollie O Carroll Austin Stacks
22 Anna Clifford Fossa
23 Mairaed Bennett Spa
24 Ellen Coffey Legion
25 Kate Stack Dr Crokes
26 Kayla O Connor Castleisland Desmonds
27 Kayleigh McGlashan Laune Rangers
28 Ciara Randles Legion
29 Roisin Daniel Firies
30 Ellen O Sullivan Inbhear Sceine Gaels