Spa Are Crowned Randles Bros Junior A Champions Whilst Na Gaeil Capture Div 1.

Spa celebration 18Ref Tom Mc and capts jnr A final 18


Randles Bros Junior A final 

Spa 3-15 Miltown/Listry 2-3 

Spa were comprehensive 15 point winners over Miltown/Listry in the Randles Bros Junior A county championship final at Castleisland last Sunday. 

Miltown/Listry had no answer to the winners movement and support play throughout the game, and although they tried hard throughout, there was always going to be only one winner in the finish. 

The Killarney side played with a strong wind in the first half and raced into an early 2 points to nil lead after 2 minutes with Meghan Cronin and Mairead Finnegan from a free, slotting over.

Miltown/Listry soon came storming right back into the game and Lorna Hickey scored a goal after her shot for a point ended up in the back of the Spa net. Miltown/Listry were dealt a body blow soon afterwards when they lost Ella Teahan to what appeared to be an ankle injury. 

Miltown/Listry were enjoying some good passages of play but the resolute Spa defence were dealing well with everything that they threw at them. At the other end the Spa forwards were in top gear and they soon added 6 points without reply with Finnegan contributing 4 and Ciara Moynihan and Lynn Jones also finding the posts.

The central axis of Finnegan and Jones were instrumental in everything good that Spa were producing. Ciara Moynihan was also putting in an excellent shift at wing forward, whilst Cassandra Buckley, Kate Maher and Gina Crowley were well in control at the back.

It looked like it would be a cake walk for Spa, but credit to Miltown/Listry who kept plugging away and an excellent attack involving Clodagh Evans and Meabh Rochford saw wing back Niamh Broderick hit an unstoppable shot past Linda Bruggener for a superb goal. 

Spa took firm control once more however, and 3 unanswered points from Finnegan, Kearney, who was now in the full forward line, and Jones saw them take a 0-11 to 2 goals lead in at the break. 

Miltown/Listry needed a good start to the second half but unfortunately for them Spa corner forward Meghan Cronin was first to strike with a goal after just 30 seconds. Spa then enjoyed a 15 minute period of dominance thereafter, and added further points from Kearney, Ciara Moynihan, Finnegan and Jones, with goals sandwiched in between from Moynihan and Finnegan, to put them firmly out of sight. 

In fairness to Miltown/Listry they mounted a comeback of sorts for the remaining last quarter of the game and they forced Spa goalkeeper Bruggener into two great saves. They also added points from Louise O’Dowd, Lorna Hickey and 2 from Maeve Rochford, but it was too little too late as Spa were deserving winners. 

Spa had top notch performances throughout the field and as well as those already mentioned, Sinead Cronin, Loretta Maher,, Mairead Bennett,Mags Cronin and Claire Moynihan can look back with satisfaction on their performances. Equally so Eilish O’Leary who put in a massive amount of work for her side. 

For Miltown/Listry Lorna Hickey,Niamh Broderick, Mairead Lehane, Ciara Murphy and Caoimhe Evans  and Clodagh Evans did best. 

Spa;Linda Bruggener, Gina Crowley, Kate Maher, Mairead Bennett, Sinead Cronin, Cassandra Buckley, Ciara Moynihan(1-1),Niamh Kearney(0-2),Lynn Jones(0-4),Mags Cronin,Mairead Finnegan(1-6,2f),Eilish O’Leary,Meghan Cronin(1-1).Subs; Elizabeth Stack(S Cronin 47),Alma O’Mahony(M Cronin 52),Liath Tobin(L Maher 55),Joanne Lynch(M Cronin 57). 

Miltown/ListryTanya Joy,Christine Carroll,Helena Hayes,Emma Tangney,Niamh Broderick (1 goal),Ciara Tangney, Mairead Lehane,Lorna Hickey(1-1),Ciara Murphy,Ella Teahan,Caoimhe Evans,Ailis Murphy, Clodagh Evans, Lorraine Kennedy, Meadhb Rochford(0-2,1f). Subs; Louise O’Dowd(E Teahan 4),Lorraine O’Sullivan(A Murphy 52),Zeta Ashe. 

Miltown Listry team 18

Referee; Tom McCarthy (Castleisland Desmonds). 


County League Division 1 Final 

Na Gaeil Div 1 champs 18 Na Gaeil 2018 Div 1

Na Gaeil 4-8 Rathmore 1-13 

Na Gaeil added the Division 1 County league title to the Intermediate championship that they claimed a few weeks ago with an impressive victory over Rathmore in Scartaglin last Sunday. 

The foundation for the Tralee side’s victory lay in an impressive first half performance when they took a wind assisted 2-7 to 0-4 lead in a the break. Na Gaeil scored goals from Jadyn Lucey and Ayesha Roche in that first half while Meagan Sheehy (2),Meabh Barry (2),Megan O’Connor, Clodagh McHugh and Nora O’Connell added points. Rathmore’s 4 scores came from the boot of the very accurate Noreen Murphy. 

Rathmore came back strongly in the second half with Murphy, Aislinn Desmond and Aoife O’Callaghan especially prominent. An early Norma O’Mahony goal gave them some hope. but in spite of a plethora of scores from Murphy, Na Gaeil had too many aces in their pack and added further goals from Roche and Sheehy sealed their victory. Na Gaeil had fine performances from goalkeeper Laura Fitzgerald, Deirdre Kearney, Eilis and Brid O Connor, Sarah Barrett and Susan Fernane. 

Na Gaeil Capt and Rathmore wirh refRathmore div 1 champs 18

Na Gaeil scorers; 

Meaghan Sheehy 1-2, Ayesha Roche 2 goals, Jadyn Lucey 1 goal,  Megan O’Connor 0-2, Meabh Barry 0-2, Clodagh McHugh (0-1),Nora O’Connell(0-1). 

Rathmore scorers; Noreen Murphy (0-10), Norma O’Mahony (1-2), Aoife O’Callaghan(0-1).