Randles Brothers Co. Junior C Champions

Randles Brothers Co Championship Junior C Final – Result
Full time
Ballymacelligott : 2-8
Cromane : 4-12

Well done to both sides. Despite the conditions there was some excellent display of Football by both sides. Thanks to Randles Brothers Nissan for sponsoring the competition this year & to Laune Rangers GAA/LGFA for the use of the pitch.


The first of this years Randles Brothers Co. Championship finals was down for decision last Wednesday in JP O’Sullivan Park Killorglin. In the Junior C decider, it pitted last years beaten finalists Cromane against newcomers to the championship Ballymacelligott. Cromane where hoping to go one better this year following defeat to Fossa and got off to the perfect start with Cora Joy pointing from a free inside the first minute. Conditions where difficult early in the first half which made it difficult for free-flowing football but Ballymacelligott where first to raise the green flag in the fifth minute. Following a well worth team move Lisa Curran finished well to give her side an early lead but Cromanes experience was evident early on and 1-01 in quick succession allowed the side to take a two-point lead. Credit to Ballymac appearing in there first decider they didn’t allow the occasion to affect them and responded with the next two scores from Cora Savage to draw the sides level. They where struck a further blow when Mary Herlihy goaled midway through the half to extend the lead to three but Ballymac responded in kind scoring the next 3 points to draw level once again and where unlucky not to take the lead. Cromane keeper Aoibhe Mangan saving well to prevent Ballymac raising there second green flag. Cromane would go on to raise the green flag for the third time in the half to take a four-point lead at the brake against a spirited Ballymac side. The gulf in class between the sides was more evident in the second half with Cromane outscoring Ballymac 1-09 to 1-03. Points from Roisin Griffin, Ailbhe Clifford & Eimear Burke and a Ballymac score from Cora Savage extended cromanes lead to seven with 10 minutes gone in the second half. While Ballymacs never say die attitude never diminished throughout the Cromanes dominance and experience grew as the half wore on which was beginning to be reflected on the scoreboard. A further two points and a Roisin Griffin penalty extended cromanes lead to twelve points with four minutes remaing. A late consolation gaol from Ballymacs Cora Savage reduced the defit but Cromane where not to be denied for a second year in a row and captured the crown to the delight of supporters in attendance with Sean MacMonagle of Randles Nissan presented the winning trophy to joint captains Amy Houlihan & Lorna Griffin. Credit to both sides for playing some excellent football despite the weather conditions. While Ballymac are a young team they can take great credit for putting up such a valiant effort throughout the game against a more seasoned and experience team in cromane

Teams & Scorers


R White, N O’Sullivan, N Rahilly, C Carroll, M Luck, U Kerins (C), E Creedon (0-1), A O’Connell, E McElligott (0-1), C Savage (1-5 3f), L Curran (1-01), A Leen, E Sweeney, G Kerins, M Sugrue

Subs: V O’Donnell, R Godley, C Kenny, S Mangan, C Rice, A Rice, E O’Brien


A Mangan, A Houlihan, M Duffy, H Clifford, L Griffin, R O’Brien, S Sheahan (0-1), S Foley (0-1), A Clifford (0-3), H Joy,  M Herlihy(1-01),  S Riordan, R Griffin (2-02), C Joy (0-3), E Burke (1-0)

Subs: S O’Neill, R Hayes,  C McMahon, M Staunton,  M McKeefery, S King,  D Griffin (0-1)

cromane cromane1 cromane2 cromane3 cromane4