Na Gaeil battle with Rathmore in Randles Bros Nissan Intermediate Final


In the marquee fixture of the weekend in the Randles Bros Nissan Intermediate Championship Final Na Gaeil defeated Rathmore in a superb game of football to add to their Junior title they won 2 years ago. Played in a sun drenched Ballymacelligott, the large attendance were treated to a wonderful open game of football – an example to all young footballers on how the game should be played with the largest margin between the teams at any stage being 3 points .


The 2015 Intermediate Final was a much different affair to last year’s, where Desmonds walked off relatively comfortably with the title. However Na Gaeil came back fighting this year with a relatively full panel & were much the better for it. Rathmore playing with the aid of a slight breeze started the brighter but hit two wides before registering their first score a point from Caroline Reen. Na Gaeil were beginning to settle and had 2 wides of their own before Sara Cunningham levelled matters with a point. Na Gaeil were beginning to dominate proceedings at this point but hit three wides in a row. Rathmore then intercepted a Na Gaeil attack after some excellent hand passing found the Na Gaeil net on the counter attack. Na Gaeil’s reply was swift and point from Jadyn Lucey steadied the ship. Eileen Murphy Rathmore and Sara Cunningham (free) traded points to leave the score Rathmore 1-2 to 3 points ahead. Rathmore through Noreen Murphy added another point before a high effort from Sara Cunningham deceived the Rathmore keeper to wind up in the net. Rathmore hit back with another Noreen O Mahony point before Ayesha Roche levelled matters on the 20th minute with a fine individual effort. Marie Quirke and Eilis O Connor were dominating midfield and the half back line of Sarah Quigley, Deirdre Kearney and Riona Ni Cinneide were holding the Rathmore forwards with Kim Enright having a excellent spell at corner back. Kate Feeney was showing well a wing forward and gave Na Gaeil the lead with a well taken point before having to retire injured to be replaced by Kate Ann O Connor. Marie Quirke then hit an excellent 45 to leave Na Gaeil 2 points ahead heading for half time. However Rathmore hit for another well taken goal just before half time to leave the score 1-6 to 2-4 in favour of Rathmore. Rathmore again started the second half the brighter and scored two opening points however Sara Cunningham and Marie Quirke soon had the sides level and it was nip and tuck for the next 15 minutes with each side scoring 3 points two of these being excellent long range efforts from Marie Quirke. Rathmore continued to press hard for scores and had the next point which was cancelled out by points from Ayesha Roche and Jadyn Lucey with Rathmore again levelling matters through Norma Mahony. Na Gaeil continued to press hard for scores and with their defence and in particular Brid O’Connor and Muireann Moriarty dominating they continued to repel the Rathmore attacks and Megan Sheehy showing well at wing forward to help her defence clear their lines. Na Gaeil had the last 3 scores of the day from Ayesha Roche (2) and Marie Quirke (1). Final score Na Gaeil 1-16, Rathmore 2-10. It was a thrilling game & Rathmore though disappointed can be sure they threw everything into it & left no rock unturned. Riona Kennedy Na Gaeil accepted the title from Paddy White Chairman Kerry Ladies Football board on behalf of sponsors Randles Bros Nissan Dealers.



Na Gaeil: Laura Fitzgerald, Niamh Moriarty, Brid O Connor, Kim Enright, Sarah Quigley, Deirdre Kearney, Riona Ni Cinneide (capt) Eilis O Connor, Marie Quirke (0-5, 3f), Megan Sheehy, Ayesha Roche (0-3), Kate Feeney (0-1), Sarah Cunningham(1-4), Aine Kelliher, Jadyn Lucey(0-3) Kate Ann O Connor for Kate Feeney (20 mins) Sile Reidy, Sinead Prendergast, Muirean Moriarty for Niamh Moriarty (30 mins) Meadbh Horgan for Kate Ann O Connor (50 mins), Eimear Nolan, Niamh Hannifin, Caoimhe Hannafin, Erika O Sullivan, Blathnaid O Connor.