Kerry v Mayo (U16 A S/f) match report.

Kerry advance to the U16 “A” All-Ireland final after a blistering display in the opening 10 minutes of the second half. Having a 4 point advantage at half time 1-8 to 7 points and out gunning Mayo to a final score of 4-15 to 9 points.
In the opening half, it was a very tense affair as Mayo had the first score from Marie O’Reilly, which was cancelled out by a Hannah O’Donoghue effort.

Mayo were then under pressure from Kerry, as Aoife O’Callaghan went one on one with the Mayo keeper who pulled off a point-blank save at the expense of a 45, from that 45 Kerry were fouled on the 20-metre line and Hannah O’Donoghue converted and this was followed by a Fiadhna Tagney point…
Mayo’s Laura Sweeney who was their main threat pulled 2 back, one from a 45 and one from the boot as both sides probed and tested each other continuously and neither gave an inch.



Coming to the end of the end of the first quarter, Kerry broke down a Mayo attack and worked the ball upfield to thru Sophie Lynch and Niamh Ni Chonchuir and on to Aoife O’Callaghan who passed to Hannah O’Donoghue and no mistake, low and hard past the keeper as Kerry lead by 4, 1-4 to 3 points.
Kerry had two further points in as many minutes from Aoife O’Callaghan, but it was Mayo who then hit a purple patch as Mayo’s midfielders Roisin Kelly and Ciara Whyte excelled in their positions and won 6 out of 9 Kerry kick outs and Amy Burke, Marie Reilly and Laura Sweeney with two, put over 4 unanswered points, cutting the deficit to 2, with the short whistle approaching.
Kerry had the two last points of the half as Aoife O’Callaghan and Hannah O’Donoghue, did what they do best and Kerry lead at half time by a slender 4 points, 1-8 to 0-7


IMG_5115                   IMG_5190

At the restart, no one expected the action, passion and firepower that ensued in the next 12 minutes as Erica McGlynn who was introduced at h/t for Laoibhe Walsmley and that substitution was felt immediately by Mayo as a Hannah O’Donoghue pass to Erica, who finished it with a rocket shot past the Mayo keeper to raise the green flag. This was followed in as many minutes with 3 points from O’Callaghan, Tagney and one from O’Donoghue, all from play.

Kerry had laid siege to the Mayo goals and the pressure put on the Mayo backs saw Kerry take this game from beyond Mayo’s reach with only 12 minutes gone in the second half as Hannah O’Donoghue ran thru the Mayo full back line and gave the keeper no chance and at the end of the 3rd qtr, this game was over as a contest as Erica McGlynn scored her second goal and followed this with a point from play adding to Kerry’s 16 point advantage .


O’Callaghan had 2 more points and Mayo’s reply was their 2nd and last score of the half. Kerry totally dominated the last quarter and Mayo could not take on their solid defence.
Mayo tried several attacks in the closing minutes, but the 6 Kerry backs stood solid and mayo faile to convert any of their efforts.
Kerry then made a further 3 changes as Jadyn Lucey came on for Niamh Ni Chonochuir, Julia O’Sullivan for Brid Ryan and Ceite Ni Luing who was introduced for Fiadhna Tagney took Kerry’s last score, with a point from play.

On a final score of Kerry 4-15 Mayo 9 points, and with 18 to spare, Kerry now go forward to meet Dublin in the All Ireland “A” Final on Wednesday, July 27, 7pm thrown and venue TBC.

Also, Happy Birthday to Kayla O’Connor who celebrated it in Birr with a lovely cake and well done to our U16 Management team of Graham, Julia and Joanne and a special thanks to all of the parents and supporters who travelled to Birr last evening..



KERRY TEAM. 1 Laura Tehan (Kilcummin), 2 Kate Maher (Kilcummin), 3 Tara Breen (Laune Rangers), 4 Ciara O’ Brien (Laune Rangers- Capt), 5 Anna O’Reilly (Fossa), 6 Ally Ni Mhathuna (Corca Dhuibhne), 7 Ciara Murphy (Milltown Listry), 8 Sophie Lynch (Listowel Emmets), 24 Kayla O’Connor (Castleisland Desmonds), 10 Fiadhna Tagney (Beaufort), 21 Hannah O’Donoghue (Beaufort), 12 Niamh Ni Chonchuir (Corca Dhuibhne), 13 Aoife O’Callaghan (Rathmore), 14 Brid Ryan (Rathmore), 15 Labhaoise Walmsley (Castleisland Desmonds).

Subs used: Erica McGlynn for Laoibhe Walsmley h/t, Ceiti Ni Luing for Fiadhna Tagney (48 min), Julia O’Sullivan for Niamh Ni Chonchuir (51 min) and Jadyn Lucey for Brid Ryan (54 min).

Scores: Hannah O’Donoghue 2-3, Erica McGlynn 2-1, Aoife O’Callaghan 0-7, Fiadhna Tagney 0-3,
Ceiti Ni Luing 0-1.

Kerry Subs: 16 Dasha Puzanova (Dr Crokes, 20 Rachael Fitzgerald (Rathmore), 22 Anna Clifford (Fossa), 23 Kate Stack (Dr Crokes), 14 Molly Carroll (Austin Stacks), 25 Ellen O’Sullivan (ISG), 26 Ciara Randles (Legion).