Desmonds Claim The Rose Hotel Division 2 Plate.

The Rose Hotel U/12 Division 2 Plate Final
Castleisland Desmonds 3-11 Abbeydorney 5-3

Desmonds u12s 2018Desmonds U12s 2018 captain
A power packed second half guided Castleisland Desmonds to the Rose Hotel Division 2 Plate title at
Ballyrickard last Tuesday night.

Abbeydorney U12s 18Abbeydorney u12s dejected
The high wind at the Tralee venue certainly played it’s part on proceedings, with both teams
dominating when they had the elements at their back. As it transpired Desmonds had the firepower
to make the best use of the gale, and their ability to take their scores when they were needed in the
second half propelled them to the title.
Abbeydorney dominated the opening exchanges and with made full use of the conditions with a four
goal salvo in the first half. Full forward Amy O’Loughlin was unstoppable during this period and slotted home 4 goals and a point as Desmonds struggled to cope with the Abbeydorney girl.
Erin O’Connor in goals, Robyn Cahill at centre half back and Keelan O’Sullivan at full back
were doing trojan work for the Castleisland side but points from Ruth O’Connor and Anna McCarthy pushed them further ahead.

When Desmonds did manage to get up the field, points from Seana Wilkinson, Amelie Kerin (2) and Amy Curtin kept them within touching distance of their opponents.
The Castleisland side were also thankful to a goal from Emily O’Donoghue, but they still found
themselves with a mountain to climb at the break as they trailed by 8 points, 1-4 to 4-3.

Desmonds had the wind at their backs for the second half and superb goals from Amelie Kerin and
Amy McCarthy set them on their way, while the hard working Kate O’Connor and Seana Wikinson
slotted over 3 points apiece. Abbeydorney struggled with the conditions but Roisin Quinn, Sadhbh Slattery and Anna McCarthy were performing well. Laura Falvey scored a good goal, but the Desmonds girls held on and came away with a 3 point victory.
Well done to both teams for an excellent game in very trying conditions.

General Manager of The Rose Hotel  Mark Sullivan presented the trophy to Desmonds captain Emma O’Donoghue.
Castleisland Desmonds; Erin O’Connor, Holly Horan, Keelan O’Connor, Hazel Burke, Deirdre
Moynihan, Robyn Cahill, Amy McCarthy (1 goal), Seana Wilkinson (0-4), Amy Curtin (0-1), Amelie Kerin(1-2),
Kate O’Connor (0-3), Emily O’Donoghue (1-1) Abigail Horan, Mary Kate Culhane, Emma O’Donoghue.
Subs; Aoife O’Leary, Rachel Horgan, Colene O’Callaghan, Michelle Burke, Anna Cox, Leah Burke,
Mairead Burke, Siobhan O’Mahony, Lucy McKenna.


Emma Leen,Orla Leahy. Roisin Quinn,Lauren Bowler, Jennifer Harty,Sadhbh Slattery,Ciara O’Connor,Ruth O Connor(0-1), Amy O’Loughlin (4-1), Lilly Gaynor, Clodagh O’Leary,Rebecca O’Mahony, Eva Costello, Anna McCarthy(0-1), Lisa Slattery. Subs Laura Falvey (1 goal), Grainne Carroll,Amy Cronin, Amy O’Sullivan, Faye Courtney, Sara Harris, Rebecca O’Dowd, Kerryann Moore, Rachel O’Donoghue, Ciara O’Brien, Kate Maunsell, Sophie McGowan, Laila Collins