Ballymac are crowned Rose Hotel Division 2 League Champions.

Ballymac were crowned the Rose Hotel U16 Division 2 champions after a superb victory over a never say die Miltown/Listry outfit in the beautiful surrounds of Fitzgerald Stadium tonight. 

Centre forward Cora Savage was the star of the show for the winners and her final tally of 4 goals and 8 points was a testament to her all round brilliance on the night. Savage wasn’t alone in her endeavours though, and Ballymac’s excellent workrate and better use of the wide Fitzgerald Stadium pitch made all the difference on the night  

Ballymac led by 2-10 to 2-3 at half time following a very entertaining first half. Ballymac’s first goal came in the 13th minute when the ball bobbled around in the M/L square and it appeared that their dashing midfielder Eve Creedon got the final touch on the ball before it hit the back of the net. Savage added an excellent individual point straight afterwards but  Miltown/Listry’s reply was instant and the dangerous Ella Teahan struck the back of the net following a strong run to make it Ballymac 1-5 Miltown/Listry 1-2. 

Savage with 2 frees and Teahan with one traded sores before Anna Griffin struck for Miltown/Listry’s second goal of the game in the 25th minute to leave just one point between the sides, 1-7 to 2-3.. Ballymac goalkeeper Ellie Sugruesaved smartly soon afterwards and from the breakaway Aisling O’Connell passed to Cora Savage who rattled the back of the Miltown/Listry net. Savage added 2 more points before the break, and O’Connell struck one and they took a 2-10 to 2-3 lead in the break. 

Miltown/Listry started the second half brightly and Ella Teahan added 2 early points, one from a penalty. Ballymac were then awarded a penalty of their own and Savage clinically dispatched it into the back of the net. Eve Creedon goaled straight afterwards and suddenly Ballymac found themselves 4-10 to 2-5 ahead. Clodagh Evans burst into the game and traded points with Savage and Creedon, but once again Savage struck for2  goals on the bounce to put Ballymac out of sight. Credit to Miltown/Listry who never gave up and after points from Teahan and Evans ,the hard working Liathh Lenihan struck for their third goal of the game. Roisin Rahilly added another point for Ballymac and Lenihan responded once more for Miltown/Listry but as the final whistle sounded Ballymac were deserved winners of an excellent contest. 

Special mention must go to Ballymac’s Lorna Daly who kept goal for them all through the campaign but unfortunately missed the final through illness. 

Ballymac Scorers ; Cora Savage 4-8 (1 goal pen, 0-5f), Eve Creedon 2-2, Aisling O’Connell 0-1, Niamh Rahilly 0-1. 

Miltown/Listry Scorers; Ella Teahan 1-6 (0-3f, 0-1 pen), Clodagh Evans 0-5, Liath Lenihan 1-1, Anna Griffin 1 goal.