All-Ireland Senior Champions Meath lead the way with 6 TG4 All Star awards

All-Ireland Senior Champions Meath lead the way with 6 TG4 All Star awards

Saturday, November 19, 2022

ALL-Ireland Senior champions Meath lead the way with six representatives on the 2022 TG4 Ladies Football All Star team.

The final 15 was revealed at the TG4 All Star awards banquet, in association with Lidl, at The Bonnington Dublin Hotel on Saturday evening, November 19.

Goalkeeper Monica McGuirk claimed a third TG4 All Star award and she’s one of four Meath players honoured for a second successive year, alongside Emma Troy, Aoibhín Cleary and Emma Duggan.

Team captain Shauna Ennis and Stacey Grimes are the Meath players who are crowned TG4 All Stars for the very first time.

Meath lifted the TG4 All-Ireland Senior title on July 31 for a second successive year, while the Royal County also claimed a maiden Lidl National League Division 1 crown in 2022.

TG4 All-Ireland Senior Final runners-up Kerry have claimed five TG4 All Star awards.

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh, leading scorer in the TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship with 4-24, collected her third TG4 All Star award, and first since 2013, while Cáit Lynch bridged a ten-year gap by earning her second award.

Lynch was named at right corner back in 2012 and earned one of the midfield slots on the 2022 selection.

The Kerry players named as TG4 All Stars for the first time are Kayleigh Cronin, Aishling O’Connell and Niamh Carmody.

As well as contesting a first TG4 All-Ireland Senior Final since 2012, Kerry also landed the 2022 Lidl National League Division 2 title, and will play in the top flight of the National League next year.

Mayo, who lost out to Kerry in the TG4 All-Ireland semi-final, have received two All Star awards.

Danielle Caldwell and Shauna Howley are both first-time winners for the green and red.

There’s a third All Star award for Armagh forward Aimee Mackin, while Donegal captain and midfield dynamo Niamh McLaughlin is also a first-time All Star recipient.

Meath quartet McGuirk, Troy, Cleary and Duggan are the four survivors from the 2021 TG4 All Star team, as the 2022 selection contains eight first-time winners.

2022 TG4 Ladies Football All-Star team:

1. Monica McGuirk (Meath) – 3rd award (previous winner in 2019 and 2021)

2. Shauna Ennis (Meath) – 1st award

3. Kayleigh Cronin (Kerry) – 1st award

4. Danielle Caldwell (Mayo) – 1st award

5. Aishling O’Connell (Kerry) – 1st award

6. Emma Troy (Meath) – 2nd award (previous winner in 2021)

7. Aoibhín Cleary (Meath) – 2nd award (previous winner in 2021)

8. Cáit Lynch (Kerry) – 2nd award (previous winner in 2012)

9. Niamh McLaughlin (Donegal) – 1st award

10. Niamh Carmody (Kerry) – 1st award

11. Emma Duggan (Meath) – 2nd award (previous winner in 2021)

12. Shauna Howley (Mayo) – 1st award

13. Aimee Mackin (Armagh) – 3rd award (previous winner in 2015 and 2017)

14. Stacey Grimes (Meath) – 1st award

15. Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry) – 3rd award (previous winner in 2012 and 2013)

County by county breakdown:

6 Meath, 5 Kerry, 2 Mayo, 1 Armagh, 1 Donegal.